Dr Stuart Turner

Photo Stuart Turner PortraitDr Stuart Turner is a consultant psychiatrist at the Trauma Clinic in London, UK. He is one of the founders and a past president of the European Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ESTTS). He has been on the board and served as the secretary, treasurer, vice-president and president of the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ISTSS). During this time he chaired an international project group for the ISTSS in collaboration with the UN on organised state violence. He is a former trustee of the Medical Foundation for the Care of Victims of Torture. He established and chaired the UK trauma group for 8 years. He has been an advisor to trauma centres in the UK and overseas, and has been involved in training and other projects in Gaza, Georgia, Sri Lanka and Namibia.

Dr Stuart Turner is an established researcher in the field of PTSD and is committed to the application of the best available scientific evidence in the treatment of people with traumatic stress reactions of all types. He was a member of the Guideline Development Group for the PTSD guidelines published in 2005 by the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE).

He is a former trustee of Redress, an organisation working for reparation for survivors of torture. Redress was one of the NGOs involved in the Pinochet extradition trial representing victims of torture in Chile. It also played a role in defining terms for the International Criminal Court (ICC). He is a former Chair of Trustees of the Refugee Therapy Centre, a London-based service specialising in offering same language counselling for young refugees and asylum seekers.

He is associate editor of the European Journal of Psychotraumatology and a member of the advisory editorial board for Torture (journal produced by the International Rehabilitation Council for Torture Victims – IRCT). Dr Stuart Turner has been honoured with the Sarah Haley Memorial Award for Clinical Excellence by the ISTSS (2010) and the Wolter de Loos Award for Outstanding Contribution to Psychotraumatology in Europe (2015).